Text size Follow us on Twitter Find us on Facebook

Queensland election: Palaszczuk Government announces cabinet line-up

The ABC reports (11.12.17) on details of re-elected Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk's new cabinet line-up, featuring an expanded ministry and a handful of assistant ministers drawn from its enlarged caucus.

'Steven Miles will be Queensland's health minister, with Premier-elect Annastacia Palaszczuk unveiling her new Cabinet on Monday afternoon.

'Mr Miles steps into the role from the environment portfolio, with former health minister Cameron Dick shifting to state development and infrastructure minister.

'The 18-member ministry was announced today and will be sworn in on Tuesday, with the Government drip-feeding the announcements throughout Monday of its new-look ministry.

'Former treasurer Curtis Pitt has been dumped from his role and will move to be the parliamentary speaker, with Deputy Premier-elect Jackie Trad taking on the position.

'Ms Palaszczuk, who was the arts minister during the last term, will take the trade portfolio.

'... Ms Palaszczuk said in a statement this afternoon that her 18-member cabinet and five assistant ministers were the right mix of experience and regional representation to deliver greater economic prosperity and government services for "all Queenslanders".'

LNP chooses first female party leader Deb Frecklington to take on Premier Palaszczuk

The ABC's Lexy Hamilton-Smith and Chris O'Brien report (12.12.17) on the outcome of the Liberal National Party's leadership ballot, following former leader Tim Nicholls' decision to stand aside in the wake of the election loss.

'The Liberal National Party's new leader has thrown out a challenge to Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk, saying it is "game on".

'The party room this afternoon overwhelmingly declared Deb Frecklington as the LNP's best chance of leading its 39 MPs and taking the fight to Labor.

'Ms Frecklington, the Member for Nanango, won the leadership ballot fighting off a challenge for the top job by former leader John-Paul Langbroek and grassroots campaigner Mark Robinson.

'Everton MP Tim Mander has been elected as Ms Frecklington's deputy. The LNP refused to reveal how many votes each candidate received.

'... Ms Frecklington, whose seat lies in the traditional National Party heartland, was deputy to outgoing Opposition Leader Tim Nicholls. She leads a party with just six female MPs.'


Previous : Next


© 2023 The T J Ryan Foundation

TJ RYAN FOUNDATION LIMITED ACN: 165152625 ABN: 78 165 152 625 info@tjryanfoundation.org.au
Registered office: SOUTH BRISBANE QLD 4101 Regulator: Australian Securities & Investments Commission