« Back to Publications

LNP likely to secure Toowoomba South seat as counting continues

Amy Mitchell-Whittington reports in the Brisbane Times (17.7.16) on the result of the by-election in the state seat of Toowoomba South, which has been held by the conservative parties in Queensland for over forty years.

‘Counting has resumed in the Toowoomba South by-election race, with the LNP expected to retain the seat and continue its seven-year run.

‘As of Sunday morning, LNP candidate and banker David Janetzki had claimed 46.38 per cent of primary votes, followed by Independent Di Thorley on 35.11 per cent, with 81 per cent counted.

‘The Darling Downs-based seat was up for grabs when Liberal National Party MP John McVeigh vacated the seat after his successful election to federal parliament.

‘Labor didn’t run a candidate in the seat, which has been in either LNP hands or its parent party the Nationals since 1974.’

The TJRyan Foundation does not guarantee the accuracy, currency or completeness of any information or material available on this website. The TJRyan Foundation reserves the right to change information or material on this website at any time without notice. Links from this site to external, non-TJRyan Foundation websites should not be construed as implying any relationship with and/or endorsement of the external site or its content by the TJR Foundation, nor any commercial relationship with the owners of any external site. Should any TJRyan research project be funded by an individual or organisation the source of funding will be stated beside the research report. In all other cases contributions are provided on a pro bono basis.
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.